From The Kitchen of A Military WIfe

Classic Salsa- Spicy and Non-Spicy Versions.

Posted on: February 7, 2010

I made this for the first time for Superbowl Sunday and I will definitely be making it again in the future! I made a spicy version and a non-spicy version so I will give you the recipes for both.

 
Spicy:
1 28 oz can whole peeled tomatoes (I think I bought the Mur organic ones?)
2 cans Ro-Tel diced tomatoes with chiles
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic-minced
1/4 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
1 jalapeno(optional-only if you want it really spicy)
Non-spicy:
Substitute the Ro-Tel tomoatoes for a can of plain diced tomatoes.  The chiles are what makes it hot. Also don’t use the jalapeno šŸ™‚
Note:If you like a more watery dip do not drain any of the juice from the canned tomatoes.  If you like a thicker dip drain out the excess liquid
Combine all ingredients in a food processor or a blender.  Pulse about 10 times or until the salsa is to your desired consistency.  Serve with Chips & enjoy!
Leave a Reply

Welcome To My Cooking Blog!

Welcome Everyone! I'm Alicia and I am a military wife currently living in Hawaii. I LOVE cooking and everything it involves :D This blog is here to show you that you can make AMAZING food in your own house :) For much less money than what you would pay if you went out at a restaurant. I hope you enjoy the recipes!

My Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Total Blog Views

  • 2,001 hits

Archives

