From The Kitchen of A Military WIfe

Linguine with Broccoli and Garlic

Posted on: February 4, 2010

This was the second recipe I have made from  my new cookbook.  I am in love with this cookbook! This recipe was delicious.  If you do not like spicy foods make sure to omit the red pepper flakes.  I used Kraft Parmesan for this recipe but I recommend you use freshly grated Parmesan (I just didn’t have any)

Ingredients:
1 package linguine or other pasta
1 Tablespoon +1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon salted butter
9 cloves garlic-peeled and minced
4 Tablespoons olive oil-split
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes(optional)
1/2 cup water
1 large head fresh broccoli (stalks removed and discarded, tops cut in half)
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan(the taste will be much better than Kraft) 

Boil the pasta as directed on the package.  Add 1 Tablespoon of salt to the water along with the butter.  While the water is boiling and the pasta is cooking add 2 tablespoons of the oil to a large saucepan, stir in the garlic and red pepper flakes.  Cook over medium heat for 8-10 minutes.  Make sure not to burn the garlic.  When it is done cooking the garlic should be very fragrant.  Add the water and broccoli to the saucepan.  Increase the heat to medium high and cover the pan.  Cook covered for 3-5 minutes.  The broccoli should turn a bright green color and become softer.  Cook uncovered for an additional 3-5 minutes or until all the water has evaporated.  By now your pasta should be done cooking.  Drain the pasta and put it in a large glass bowl.  Add the remaining olive oil(2 tablespoons) and the broccoli/garlic mixture. Stir and then add the Parmesan. Serve & Enjoy

3 Responses to "Linguine with Broccoli and Garlic"

Cook's Illustrated has scrumptious recipes…I have one of their books and subscribe to their magazine. Don't think I've ever found a recipe I would not want to prepare and eat.

That looks delicious!!! Really simple too! I'll have to try it!

That look yummy! =]

Leave a Reply

Welcome To My Cooking Blog!

Welcome Everyone! I'm Alicia and I am a military wife currently living in Hawaii. I LOVE cooking and everything it involves :D This blog is here to show you that you can make AMAZING food in your own house :) For much less money than what you would pay if you went out at a restaurant. I hope you enjoy the recipes!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Total Blog Views

  • 1,998 hits

Archives

