From The Kitchen of A Military WIfe

Chicken Parmesan with Angel Hair

Posted on: January 31, 2010

Me and my husband love having people over.  A few nights ago we had a few good friends over and the question came to mind what I should prepare for dinner for everyone.  I had originally thought I would prepare the Garlic & Chicken Stuffed Shells I have been promising everyone the recipe for but to my surprise the commissary does not believe in selling the jumbo shells I needed (do not fear! I have since bought the shells elsewhere & will soon be posting the recipe for those!).  I decided to instead prepare chicken Parmesan.  Let me just say that this meal turned out wonderfully!  I added some plain angel hair pasta with it which really added to the meal I think 🙂

 
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs (I used the Italian kind which has some oregano thrown in with it. If you use a different kind you need to add 1/8 teaspoon oregano)
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil (don’t use regular vegtable oil)
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 Tablespoon salt 
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3 egg whites
1 Tablespoon water
6 chicken breasts-boneless & skinless
2 cups marinara sauce
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
Preheat your oven to 475.  Turn one of the burners on your stove onto LOW heat. I repeat LOW heat. I so often see people cooking on higher heats because it is faster but they burn their meal.  Ok back to business.  Place a large frying pan onto the heated burner then add the olive oil. Once the oil is a bit heated (about 30 seconds) add the breadcrumbs.  Mix the breadcrumbs with the oil and let them brown a bit.  Keep mixing and stirring the breadcrumbs for about 5 minutes & then remove from heat.  After they have been off the heat for 5 minutes add the Parmesan cheese.  Then pour this mixture into a medium mixing bowl and set aside.  In another medium mixing bowl add the flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  In a small mixing bowl add the egg whites and the water- whisked together.  To make it easier I lined by three bowls up in a row starting with the flour mixture, then the egg mixture, and finally the bowl with the breadcrumbs.  Take your chicken breast and pat it dry with a paper towel.  Use your salt & pepper shakers to lightly salt & pepper the chicken.  Next put the chicken in the flour mixture and completely coat the chicken.  Next it goes into the egg mixture make sure again to thoroughly coat it and finally it goes to the breadcrumb mixture.  On a large cookie sheet which you need to grease with cooking spray you are going to place the breaded chicken.  Once you have done this for all 6 chicken breasts you are going to cook this at 475 for 15 minutes.  Remove the chicken from the oven and add about 1/4 cup marinara sauce to each chicken breast and the top with Parmesan.  Cook for an additional 5 minutes then remove from the oven.  While the chicken is cooking you can cook your pasta.  Angel hair takes about 5 minutes to cook.  After adding the pasta and water to the pot add 1 Tablespoon butter and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  This will prevent the noodles from sticking to each other.  I served the chicken over the noodles and then topped with some extra fresh mozzarella 🙂
Leave a Reply

Welcome To My Cooking Blog!

Welcome Everyone! I'm Alicia and I am a military wife currently living in Hawaii. I LOVE cooking and everything it involves :D This blog is here to show you that you can make AMAZING food in your own house :) For much less money than what you would pay if you went out at a restaurant. I hope you enjoy the recipes!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Total Blog Views

  • 1,998 hits

Archives

