From The Kitchen of A Military WIfe

Peanut Butter Blondies with Chocolate Frosting.

Posted on: January 26, 2010

I kid you not, if you are a peanut butter fan these will not last long in your home! They are delightful and taste so delicious they should be outlawed. I thought I had died and gone to Foodie Heaven πŸ™‚

Ingredients:
10 Tablespoons unsalted butter
2 cups brown sugar (I used dark brown)
1 cup peanut butter( I use Jiff smooth)
2 eggs (whisked together before adding to mix)
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

I cooked these in a 9 x 13 pan at 325.  If you have to use a different pan the world will not end πŸ™‚ You just may have to adjust the cooking time a bit.  If you stick a toothpick or fork in them and it doesn’t  come out clean chances are it is not done.  That is my general rule of thumb for baking.

Directions:
Using LOW again I repeat LOW heat melt the butter and brown sugar together. If you use higher heat you will burn the butter.  This will take about 5 minutes then you need to remove your pan from the burner and let it cool for another 5 minutes. Stir the peanut butter in (the pan has not been returned to the burner yet).  Once those items are throughly combined add the eggs and vanilla.  In a seperate bowl mix the dry ingredients.  Once those are throughly combined add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients & whisk together.  Then cook this in your throughly greased 9 x 13 pan for 20-25 minutes.  While this is cooking you can prepare your chocolate frosting.  I suppose you could use store bought frosting but this is 857348952309402 times better!!

Chocolate frosting recipe:
6 Tablespoons unsalted butter
3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
Up to 2 cups powdered sugar
3 Tablespoons milk
1 cup chocolate chunks or chips (slightly melted, I microwaved them for 30 seconds)

Using an electric hand mixer (or a stand mixer if you have one, or just a whisk if you don’t have either) mix the metled butter, cocoa powder, and salt. Add 1/2 c powdered sugar and 1 Tablespoon milk and combine throughly.  Then add another cup of powdered sugar, the rest of the milk and the melted chocolate chunks.  At this point you want o taste the frosting.  If it is too thin add more powdered sugar and if it is too thick add more milk.  If it is delicious and your husband declares you his baking goddess you can thank me later! just kidding πŸ™‚  ENJOY!!

2 Responses to "Peanut Butter Blondies with Chocolate Frosting."

Im super excited I found your blog. I love cooking for my husband and trying new things. We have a collection of cook books that we have started and now I have one more recipe outlet to go to YEAH!!! Keep them coming. Just reading abt these sweet treats makes me wanna go out and try them now. πŸ™‚

Thank you SO much for this recipe!! It was AMAZING and really easy! The only thing is I didn't have the ingredients to make the frosting, so I had to use a can of chocolate frosting that was in the cupboard. But it still was delicious and I'll be sure to make the frosting next time! I love the idea of this blog and can't wait to try more of your recipes! I love to cook and bake, but I kinda suck at it…lol! Keep those recipes coming!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome To My Cooking Blog!

Welcome Everyone! I'm Alicia and I am a military wife currently living in Hawaii. I LOVE cooking and everything it involves :D This blog is here to show you that you can make AMAZING food in your own house :) For much less money than what you would pay if you went out at a restaurant. I hope you enjoy the recipes!

My Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Total Blog Views

  • 2,001 hits

Archives

