From The Kitchen of A Military WIfe

Double Patty Mozerella Burgers.

Posted on: January 24, 2010

Let’s keep in mind that I have never cooked a burger in my LIFE! I saw this recipe & I just had to try it though. I have begun to believe that it is worth it to splurge a little on some ingredients such as the good cheeses (this recipe calls for fresh mozzarella cheese ($5 for a fist sized amount) , found in the gourmet cheeses section) but it is well worth it. I sadly don’t have a picture of this recipe but take my word that it is WONDERFUL! This will be my go to burger recipe from here on out. & if I don’t LOVE IT I won’t post it šŸ™‚

Patty Ingredients:
1 lb ground sirloin
2 T minced onion
1 t minced, peeled garlic
1 t salt
1/2 t italian seasoning
1/4 t pepper
6 slices pancetta ( optional, basically this is expensive fancy bacon. It is delicious but a bit pricey so you can omit it if need)

Instead of using regular ketchup with the burgers we used basil ketchup
1/2 c ketchup
2 minced garlic cloves
1 T minced fresh basil leaves

To make the patties you are going to mix all ingredients together my hand in a large mixing bowl.  You can either cook them on a grill (recommended) or on your stove (what I did since we don’t have a grill *insert sad face here*). After mixing the ingredients together separate them into 6 balls of equal size.  You are going to flatten these balls into round discs, place a slice of fresh mozzarella on top of 3 of them along with 2 slices on pancetta.  Then you will put the patties that do not have mozzarella on them on top of the ones that do.  You then want to press the sides together so that you can no longer see the mozzarella.  Then cook/grill them to your desired done-ness (for lack of a better word).  I served them with the basil ketchup, lettuce, and tomatoes on potato buns and they were delicious!

Leave a Reply

Welcome To My Cooking Blog!

Welcome Everyone! I'm Alicia and I am a military wife currently living in Hawaii. I LOVE cooking and everything it involves :D This blog is here to show you that you can make AMAZING food in your own house :) For much less money than what you would pay if you went out at a restaurant. I hope you enjoy the recipes!

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Total Blog Views

  • 1,998 hits

Archives

